Tags

Ten years ago, a little book called Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief was released.

Wow.

It’s amazing to me that it’s already been ten years since this series started.  Now, I didn’t start reading as soon as this series began, but I’ve been reading Riordan’s fun reinvention of Greek mythology for most of its run.  It and its sequel, Heroes of Olympus, are filled with fascinating characters in an engrossing world.  Riordan took the real world and made us kids reading look at it in a different way than we did before.

This book was really something special to a middle-schooler reading it for the first time.  I fell in love with this book and waited on the edge of my seat between finishing the latest book and waiting for the next.  My friends and I would pass the books around to each other and devour them in a few days before coming back to talk about what happened out of earshot of the kid who just got the book.  We’d quote them to each other, make jokes about them, talk about our favorite parts and what parts made us angry.

In short, we were a fandom before I think any of us really knew what a fandom was.

The Lightning Thief was also one of those books I read around the time I decided I wanted to be a writer.  So, while I can’t pinpoint any book that directly influenced me in that decision or the decisions that lead to Birth By Flame being what it is, but Riordan and Jackson were among that group.

So, happy anniversary, Rick.  Here’s to ten more years.

