Tags

Hello everyone.

It has been some time since I last posted on here.  Like, eight months ago.

These past eight months have been really crazy.  In that time, I have:

  • Graduated from high school
  • Moved down to college and started taking classes
  • Gone through the whole process of performing an awesome production of Les Mis
  • Dealt with a lot of academic stress (AP tests and finals are not fun, y’all)

Throughout that time, I’ve tried to keep active with my writing.  I’ve developed some ideas, started writing some, abandoned others, and tried to keep to a good habit of writing.

That didn’t really work, unfortunately, mainly because I didn’t have a really strong idea to latch onto.  To top that off, Birth by Flame has sort of fallen off the radar in terms of sales.  I’ll admit some of the blame, it’s hard to market a book yourself when you’re focusing on schoolwork.

But, as I was reflecting on what to do about that book this summer, it occurred to me that I had a lot of problems with it, ranging from small details in phrasing to larger story and character problems.

I think a lot of that has to do with who I am as a person.  I pushed to get my novel published before college applications, so I was “done” with it before my senior year really started.  The problem with that is I matured a lot more during my senior year than I had throughout any previous year.  I am a much different person than I was in September when I published.

So, this July, during Camp NaNoWriMo, I decided to take a crack at rewriting Birth by Flame.  My main idea was, in a sense, “zooming in” on the world I’d created.  This meant keeping the scope of the adventure smaller, but making the world and characters more detailed.

I like where this draft is going.  It already feels a lot stronger than the published draft, and I want to run with it and see where it goes.  But, that leaves the question: what do I do with the published version?

Here’s what I plan to do.  The version of the novel on Smashwords will be not be unpublished.  It will still be available for purchase, but I recommend you don’t go out and buy it just yet.  Maybe just download the sample if you really want to.  The old posts about Birth by Flame on this blog will remain, but they’ll be clearly tagged as “Old.”

In addition to this, and partially because this new version is nowhere near being complete, I’m also going to start posting content on this blog about the world of Birth by Flame, similar to the character portraits I posted last summer.  Hopefully, you guys will find these interesting, and they’ll allow me to share more of this amazing world that I’ve created.  Expect the first of these in the coming weeks!

It feels good to be back.  I hope you guys enjoy what’s to come.  Until then!

